Library Excellence Award

This prize rewards students who have demonstrated excellent use of the UQ Library to enhance their studies. We invite UQ undergraduate students (including Honours students) to apply. 

Note: We are currently reviewing this Award and expect to reopen the process with new criteria. 

The Library Excellence award was established in 2006 and is proudly funded by the UQ Library in support of teaching and learning, to:

  • encourage the use of library resources
  • enhance the development of library research techniques
  • acknowledge the excellent work produced by UQ undergraduate students.


  • $1000 per recipient
  • Up to four awards each year


As the winner of the award, you:

  • will have demonstrated excellent use of the UQ Library to enhance your studies
  • will have supplied all required information as indicated on the application form
  • may be asked for consent to use your name/photograph/image for promotional purposes on the UQ Library website and elsewhere
  • will have the opportunity to attend a UQ Library event where you will be presented with a certificate in recognition of your award. 

The UQ Library reserves the right not to award any or all of the prizes.


For more information or questions about this award, please email Tanya Ziebell,, Manager of Marketing and Communication, University of Queensland Library.

Award winners

  • 2019 - Jeremy Hunt (School of Biomedical Science/School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering), Erika Chumpia (School of Languages and Cultures), Brendan Ellis (School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry), Benjamin Walsh (School of Political Science and International Studies)

  • 2018 - Elana Forbes (Bachelor of Business Management/Bachelor of Science), Meg Thomas (Bachelor of Arts/Communication), Keilin Anderson (Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws (Hons))

  • 2017 - Alexander Asher (Bachelor of Advanced Science (Hons)), Catherine Crombie (Bachelor of Laws/ Bachelor of Science), Sila Felix (Bachelor of Environmental Science (Hons))

  • 2016 - Sarah Duncan (Faculty of Science, School of Veterinary Science), Yao Fang (Faculty of Business, Economics & Law, UQ Business School - Tourism), Matthew Tsai (Faculty of Business, Economics & Law, TC Beirne School of Law)

  • 2015 - David Innes (Faculty of Science, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences), Michael Wellington (Faculty of Science, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences), and Kathryn Mepham (Faculty of Science, School of Veterinary Science) 

  • 2014 -  Olivia Black (School of English, Media Studies and Art History, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences); Natassja Bertram (School of Journalism and Communication, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences); Elise Hewlett (School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, Faculty of Science); Angelique Zamora (School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences)

  • 2013 - Ms Tegan Moller, Faculty of Science; Mr Benjamin O'Sullivan, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law; Teresa Smith, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • 2012 - Mr Evyn Arnfield, Faculty of Health Sciences (Medicine); Miss Bianca Kabel, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (Law); Miss Cheyenne Langan, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History)

  • 2011 - Mr Christopher Brown, Faculty of Health Sciences (Human Movement Studies); Mr Abdul Martin Rustam, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (Law); Ms Soo Jeng (Clara) Tan, Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (Civil Engineering)

  • 2010 - Mr David Rawson, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History); Ms Brooke Edwards, Faculty of Science (Biomedical Science); Ms Marnie Van Der Walt, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History); Mr Nicholas Gattas – Social and Behavioural Sciences (Political Science and International Studies)

  • 2009 - Ms Chloe Forsyth, Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (Architecture); Ms Emily Pitcher, Faculty of Arts (Music); Mr Raymond Lam, Faculty of Arts (History, Philosophy, Religion and Classics) 

  • 2008 - Ms Khamla Mott – Bachelor of Science, UQ Gatton; Ms Samantha Gannaway, Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Education (Middle Years of Schooling), UQ Ipswich; Mr Steven Rasztotsky, Bachelor of Music/ Bachelor of Education, UQ St Lucia 

  • 2007 - No award presented

  • 2006 - Mr Anton Petrenko, Bachelor of Psychology, UQ St Lucia; Ms Mani Heck, Bachelor of Applied Science, UQ Gatton


Applicant eligibility 

To be eligible for the award:

  • submit the application by 1 October
  • be enrolled in an undergraduate (Bachelor or Honours) degree at The University of Queensland
  • you must not be a UQ staff member

Supporting documents

  1. A 500-700 word reflective essay, demonstrating how UQ Library resources were used to produce an excellent assessment outcome. Essays will be assessed against the following criteria:
    • sophistication, originality, and depth or breadth in the use of library collections
    • evidence of significant personal learning and the development of a habit of research and enquiry
    • exceptional ability to locate, select, evaluate and synthesise library resources
  2. A statement of support from your supervising lecturer (can be your course co-ordinator, the lecturer of the course for the piece of assessment you're submitting, etc.)
  3. A copy of the piece of assessment that includes a bibliography showing the resources used.

Selection of award

Winner(s) will be selected based on:

  • the quality of the essay
  • the quality of the assessment item
  • the statement of support.

The judging panel includes the University Librarian in consultation with the President, Academic Board, or nominee, and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), or nominee.


Applicants will be notified via email once the decision has been made by the selection committee.