Fryer Library Fellowship

The annual Fryer Library Fellowship (formerly the Fryer Library Award) is one of the Library's annual awards and fellowships, made possible with the support of our donors and benefactors. The Fryer Library Fellowship aims to: 

  • Support research into Australian historical and literary studies utilising the collections of the University of Queensland’s Fryer Library.
  • Promote The University of Queensland’s Fryer Library as a centre of scholarly activity.
  • Integrate a digital component (e.g. online exhibition) that will expand access and encourage engagement with the Fryer collections used in the research project.

Applications are invited in the following areas:

  • Australian literature
  • Australian theatre
  • Indigenous studies
  • Queensland architecture
  • Art and design
  • Australian history and political culture
  • Women’s studies

Successful applicants receive $20,000 as well as full UQ Library access and copying services. 

It is anticipated that the successful applicant will be based at the St Lucia campus of The University of Queensland for a negotiated period, with a maximum of six months. The appointment is to be taken up during the fellowship year. 

The Fryer Library Fellowship is generously funded through donations. Thank you to our supporters for making this possible. 

How to apply

Apply now

Applications for the Fryer Library Fellowship are due by Friday 24 February 2017.

Download the Fryer Library Fellowship Guidelines for more information.

Contact the Manager, Fryer Library with any questions.

2016 Fryer Fellowship

Dr Roger Osborne

Dr Roger Osborne is the recipient of the 2016 Fryer Library Fellowship. 

Dr Osborne's research will explore the short story market in Australia and the long-running Australian Journal during the editorship of Ronald Campbell from 1926 to 1955. In the Louise Campbell Papers (UQFL120) the Fryer Library holds an unfinished autobiography by Ronald Campbell, tentatively titled ‘An Editor Regrets’ and an unfinished anthology, ‘The Australian Journal Story Book’.

Previous recipients


L-R: Jane Hunt (2009), Cheryl Taylor (2010), James Halford (2011), Dr William Hatherall (2013), Dr Damien Williams (2015)      

  • Dr Damien Williams, 2015
  • Dr Fred Cahir, 2014
  • Dr William Hatherell, 2013
  • Dr D'Arcy Randall, 2012
  • Barbara Williams, 2012 (Honorary)
  • James Halford, 2011
  • Dr Cheryl Taylor, 2010
  • Dr Jane Hunt, 2009
  • Dr Katherine Barnes, 2008
  • Dr Toni Johnson-Woods, 2007
  • David Henderson, 2006
  • Professor Laurie Hergenhan, 2006 (Honorary)