Library Search can save your search (including active filters), so that you can quickly run it again. You can also choose to be notified when new results become available for your Saved searches.

Your Saved searches and Search history are associated with your logged in username, which may change based on your Membership type. If your Membership type is changing, make sure to copy the search details to re-create the Saved search.

Save a search and set an alert

Save a search to run it repeatedly it from Favourites within Library Search, or also set an email alert.

  1. Log in to the Library from the Library homepage header or within Library Search
  2. Do your search and apply any filters you like. Consider including the New Records filter, for options such as Last week, to limit to newly added records
  3. Click Save search or create alert
  4. Use the Save search or create alert link in the notification banner to set an alert
  5. An Alert settings popup will appear, with your account email prefilled on your behalf, but you may also choose to add an optional email alert name (255 character limit)
  6. Save to confirm

You can also set the alert later via Favourites

Option to Save search or create alert

Alert settings, including prefilled email and optional email alert name
Alert settings, including email and alert name

Checking your Saved searches and alerts 

Emails alerts are sent weekly (around 8am on the same day of the week the alert was created), when you have chosen to activate alerts from a Saved search. The new results may include newly published items or older items that have been recently added to Library Search. 

To access your previously Saved searches and set an alert

  1. Go to your Favourites
  2. Select the Saved searches tab. Note that the saved search shows the various filters that had been applied. 
  3. You can click on the title of the Saved search to run it again.
  4. Click on the alert icon to turn alerts on. You should see a notification banner confirming the action, and you can also click on Change alert settings in the banner, to adjust the email prefilled on your behalf and set an optional email alert name

If wanting to change the email alert name, click the alert icon to turn off the alert and then click it again to turn the alert back on. This activates the  notification banner with the Change alert settings, to edit the email alert name. Note that this may reset the day of the week in which you receive the weekly alert email.

Saved search and alert option in Favourites

Click the icon again to turn off the alert, or the pin icon to delete the Saved search. Note that a deleted Saved search cannot be restored, but can be recreated using the steps above to Save a search and set an alert.

Share a search

Another method for saving a search is by QR code, which you can also share with others.

  1. After doing your search, click on the QR code at top right
  2. A popup will appear with a Copy link option or you can scan the QR code with your device
  3. If choosing to Copy link, the display will show that the link was copied successfully
  4. Click Close to remove the popup

Save and search a search by QR code at top right, with either Copy link or scanning the QR code with your device

Search history 

When not logged in, searches in your current browser session are saved temporarily in your Favourites Search history

When logged in, your latest 100 searches are saved automatically in your Search History and are used for search suggestions

You can choose to prevent your searches being saved or being used for search suggestions. These disabling options are available in your Library account, in the Details and settings section

You can also choose to delete searches saved previously. This can be done in your Favourites Search history by specific searches or for all of them at once, by selecting the top checkbox to mark all searches and then the bin icon to delete

Suggested previous search term, from your Search History My Favourites