Donors and award recipients celebrated

The UQ Library celebrated its award recipients in 2016, announced new prizes for 2017 and had a white gloves display of our new acquisitions which were made possible through donations at the inaugural UQ Library Awards and Acquisitions Evening.
The Library Excellence Award for Undergraduate Students recipients are Ms Yao Fang (UQ Business School), Ms Sarah Duncan (School of Veterinary Science) and Mr Matthew Tsai (TC Beirne School of Law). 
Professor Fred D'Agostino and Library Excellence Award winner Sarah Duncan.
Matthew Tsai accepting his award.

Our Fryer Fellow for 2016 is Dr Roger Osborne. His fellowship explores the short story market in Australia and the long-running Australian Journal during the editorship of Ronald Campbell from 1926 to 1955.

Simon Farley Manager, Fryer Library presenting Dr Roger Osborne with his award.

Two new awards for 2017 were announced. Dr Margaret Hammer is supporting the Rae and George Hammer Memorial Visiting Research Fellowship in memory of her parents Rae and George Hammer. The fellowship is to provide assistance for Honours, Masters and PhD students from other universities to use the collections held in the Fryer Library. Thank you to Dr Hammer for her generosity.

George and Rae Hammer.












Taylor and Francis Group are supporting a prize to award Research Higher Degree students that show excellent use of library resources. Ms Kim Brooking from Taylor and Francis Group announced the new Taylor and Francis Group Library Excellence Award in Research.

Ms Kim Brooking from Taylor and Francis Group.
Following the award presentation guests were invited to look at a white gloves display of acquistions in 2016 which had been made possible through donations.
Fryer Librarian Cassie Doyle showing guests work by the artist Peter Lyssiotis.

Congratulations to our award recipients and thank you to our supporters for joining us for a wonderful evening. View more pictures from the event.

Discover more information on the impact of supporting the Library.

Last updated:
31 January 2017