There are several options for sharing access to 

  1. EndNote (desktop) - sharing libraries online
  2. EndNote Online - giving access to groups

EndNote - sharing library

Sharing via Sync

Share your entire library, including all attachments, using EndNote Sync function. Share your library with up to 100 other people who are using the latest version of EndNote.

Caution: Your collaborators have full access to your library, and any changes made are permanent.

To establish this collaboration:

  1. Sync your library
  2. Click File > Share
  3. Enter the email addresses of your collaborators' accounts
  4. Click Invite
  5. Click Close

To access a library shared with you:

  1. Click Accept on the email sent from the library's owner
  2. On EndNote, click File > Open shared library
  3. Select the email address of owner of the shared library
  4. Click Open

To sync your library across your own multiple devices, see Sync your library on multiple devices on Setting up and backing up your EndNote Library

EndNote online - groups within EndNote collaboration

Share parts (ie. groups) of your library, without attachments, through EndNote Online.

Watch EndNote.com's video Groups, Syncing, and Sharing References: A Live Class Recording

To create a group of references:

  1. Logon to your EndNote basic or EndNote Online account
  2. Click on Organize - then Manage My Groups
  3. Select New Group and name it
  4. Select the citations you would like to add into the New Group
  5. Click on the Arrow from the drop-down Add To Group menu
  6. Add your references to the selected group

To share groups of references:

  1. In EndNote basic/online, click on Organize and then on Manage My Groups
  2. The Manage My Groups window opens and shows the groups you have created and their status
  3. Select the Share column; check the square box to the left of the group you wish to share and choose the Manage Sharing button
  4. Click on Start sharing this group
  5. The Add e-mail addresses to window opens
  6. Add email addresses for those with whom you wish to share your group
  7. Select the button to allow the person to Read Only or Read & Write
    • Read Only will give access to references within the group
    • Read & Write will give access to references within the group and the ability to add, edit and subtract references
  8. Click Apply
  9. Close the window
  10. Notify your collaborator/s that the shared group will be found under Groups Shared by Others in their online EndNote library

To share with colleagues without EndNote

To share a library with colleagues do not have the EndNote software, they will need to create a free, online-only EndNote Basic account.

After they have created the account and have sent you the email address, you can share groups with that account.