2019 Library Excellence Award winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 Library Excellence Award.

The winners for 2019 are:

  • Jeremy Hunt (School of Biomedical Science/School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering)
  • Erika Chumpia (School of Languages and Cultures)
  • Brendan Ellis (School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry)
  • Benjamin Welsh (School of Political Science and International Studies/School of Law)

Thank you to all the students who applied. 

Erika Chumpia, Jeremy Hunt, University Librarian Caroline Williams, and Brendan Ellis

Judging the Award

Students applying for the Award must submit:

  • a 500-700 word reflective essay, demonstrating how UQ Library resources were used to produce an excellent assessment outcome
  • a statement of support from their supervising lecturer, and
  • a copy of the piece of assessment that includes a bibliography showing the resources used.

The judging panel includes the University Librarian in consultation with the President of the Academic Board or nominee,  and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) or nominee.

The panel considered the quality of each element of the submissions. When assessing the reflective essays, the panel looked for sophistication, originality, and depth or breadth in the use of library collections; evidence of significant personal learning and the development of a habit of research and inquiry; and an exceptional ability to locate, select, evaluate and synthesise library resources.​

Each of our student winners demonstrated strength in these criteria.

About the Award

The Library Excellence Award is presented annually to up to four UQ undergraduate students who demonstrate excellence in the use of the Library to enhance their studies. Each winner of the Award receives $1000.

Last updated:
4 December 2019