2020 Creative Writing Fellow

We are pleased to announce Dr Kate Crowcroft as the Library Creative Writing Fellow for 2020.

For her project, Kate will complete a collection of poems, drawing in particular on the photographic archives of two pioneering Australian women — travel writer and journalist Ernestine Hill and artist Daphne Mayo.

The Library Creative Writing Fellowship is made possible because of the generous support of the Australian Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and library donors.

About Kate

Kate Crowcroft


Kate Crowcroft is a writer, poet and interdisciplinary researcher. She received her MPhil and PhD from the University of Cambridge as a twice-awarded Gates Cambridge Scholar.

She is the recipient of the John Kinsella Prize for Poetry and the Brewer Hall Prize for Poetry.

Her poetry has appeared in The Best Australian Poems series, Visual VerseThe Weekend Australian, and other media.

Kate has presented papers and lectures at Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, University College London, and Shakespeare’s Globe, and has taught writing at Faber Academy, London, and Deakin University, Melbourne.

Her book Tongue: Memoirs of Duality and Disease, a lyric non-fiction cultural and personal reflection on the tongue, is forthcoming in February 2021 with Little, Brown UK and Hachette Australia. 

Inspiration and Fryer collections

As a basis for her project, Kate will be using the Ernestine Hill Papers (UQFL18) and the Daphne Mayo Papers (UQFL119)

Change to this fellowship for 2024

The 2024 Creative Writing Fellowship provides an early career Australian author with the opportunity to write a new creative work using the special collections in the Fryer Library.

The fellowship is offered by UQ’s Centre for Critical and Creative Writing in the School of Communication and Arts in conjunction with the Fryer Library and with the support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. 

Applications for the 2024 fellowship close at 5pm on Monday 13 November 2023.

The Fellowship is offered with the generous support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and library donors. 

Last updated:
20 October 2023