The Fryer Library Award & Fryer Fellowship

The Fryer Library Award

The Fryer Library Award was launched in 2006, when the Fryer Library and the Australian Studies Centre at The University of Queensland established a new fellowship program. This program aimed to support for research in the area of Australian studies using material from Fryer collections.

The first recipient, David Henderson from Victoria University, Melbourne, undertook research on the internment of Germans and Australians of German descent during the Second World War.

Inaugural Fryer Award recipient, David Henderson, 2006.

A special honorary award was made to Professor Laurie Hergenhan in the same year. Professor Hergenhan, a former academic and lecturer in the English Department at The University of Queensland, completed scholarly annotations for an edition of previously unpublished biography of the Australian novelist and journalist, Marcus Clarke.

Since 2006, the award has attracted scholars and academics from across Australia. Each recipient has unearthed stories of significance from the records and papers held at the Fryer Library. Dr Katherine Barnes (Fryer Award, 2008) focused her research project on the works of Brisbane author, David Malouf. Ms D’Arcy Randall (Fryer Award, 2012) conducted research for a memoir of her career at UQP, where she held the position of Fiction Editor during a vibrant and important period for Australian Literature - the 1980s.

D'Arcy Randall
2012 Fryer Award recipient, Ms D'Arcy Randall

Explorations of different periods in Queensland literary history have also been realised through the Fryer Library Award. To name just two projects: James Halford’s (Fryer Award, 2011) investigation into nineteenth century Brisbane writers imagining their future city and William Hatherall’s (Fryer Award, 2013) research into FW Robinson and JJ Stable’s influence on cultural life in Brisbane in the interwar period.

More recently, Dr. Damien Williams (Fryer Award, 2015) explored what it meant to be Catholic and modern in Queensland after the Second World War with his research entitled Between Roma and Rome.

2015 Fryer Award recipent, Dr Damien Williams

The Fryer Fellowship

In 2016, the Fryer Library Award was renamed the Fryer Fellowship and a digital component was added to the requirements of the award, along with increased financial funding.

The 2016 Fryer Fellow, Dr Roger Osborne, continued a tradition of exemplarary research in Fryer. His Fellowship explored the short story market in Australia and the long-running Australia Journal during the editorship of Ronald Campbell from 1926 to 1955. Roger’s extensive experience working with the AustLit database and his continued interest in digital humanities as well as print culture combine both print and digital into a fascinating research project in this area of Australian Literature and open up the possibilities for presenting research using digital means.

2016 Fryer Fellow, Dr Roger Osborne presents his research
Dr Roger Osborne in the Centre for Digital Scholarship
Last updated:
18 September 2017