University of Queensland Library Excellence Award

This award is presented annually to up to three UQ undergraduate students who demonstrate excellence in the use of the Library to enhance their studies. The award was established in 2006, to:

  • encourage the use of Library resources
  • enhance the development of library research techniques
  • acknowledge the excellent work produced by UQ undergraduate students.

The award also acknowledges how Library resources support teaching and learning.

The judging panel includes the University Librarian in consultation with the President, Academic Board, or nominee, and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), or nominee.


The award is open to any undergraduate, including Honours, student of The University of Queensland who is not a member of staff.


  • $1000 to be awarded to each recipient (up to three UQ undergraduate students)

Closing date 

1 October each year

How to apply

  • Complete the Award Cover Sheet (DOC, 500 KB) or Award Cover Sheet (PDF, 200 KB)
  • Write a 500-700 word reflective essay, demonstrating how Library resources were used to produce an excellent assessment outcome. Essays will be assessed against the following criteria:
    • sophistication, originality, the depth or breadth in the use of Library collections
    • evidence of significant personal learning and the development of a habit of research and inquiry
    • exceptional ability to locate, select, evaluate and synthesise Library resources
  • Obtain a Statement of Support (Word, 500 KB) or Statement of Support (PDF, 200 KB) from your supervising lecturer
  • Submit each of the above, along with a copy of the piece of assessment that includes a bibliography showing the resources used, by 1 October. Submissions can be sent by email to (please include 'Library Excellence Award submission' in the subject line), by post or in person. Paper submissions must be received by 5pm on 1 October and should be addressed to the University Librarian, Level 6, Duhig Tower, The University of Queensland, Brisbane QLD 4072 Australia. 

Frequently asked questions


Email Tanya Ziebell,, Manager, Marketing and Communications 

Past award winners

  • 2016 - Sarah Duncan (Faculty of Science, School of Veterinary Science), Yao Fang (Faculty of Business, Economics & Law, UQ Business School - Tourism), Matthew Tsai (Faculty of Business, Economics & Law, TC Beirne School of Law)

  • 2015 - David Innes (Faculty of Science, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences), Michael Wellington (Faculty of Science, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences), and Kathryn Mepham (Faculty of Science, School of Veterinary Science) 

  • 2014 -  Olivia Black (School of English, Media Studies and Art History, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences); Natassja Bertram (School of Journalism and Communication, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences); Elise Hewlett (School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, Faculty of Science); Angelique Zamora (School of Nursing and Midwifery, Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences)

  • 2013 - Ms Tegan Moller, Faculty of Science; Mr Benjamin O'Sullivan, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law; Teresa Smith, Faculty of Health Sciences
  • 2012 - Mr Evyn Arnfield, Faculty of Health Sciences (Medicine); Miss Bianca Kabel, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (Law); Miss Cheyenne Langan, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History)

  • 2011 - Mr Christopher Brown, Faculty of Health Sciences (Human Movement Studies); Mr Abdul Martin Rustam, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law (Law); Ms Soo Jeng (Clara) Tan, Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (Civil Engineering)

  • 2010 - Mr David Rawson, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History); Ms Brooke Edwards, Faculty of Science (Biomedical Science); Ms Marnie Van Der Walt, Faculty of Arts (English, Media Studies and Art History); Mr Nicholas Gattas – Social and Behavioural Sciences (Political Science and International Studies)

  • 2009 - Ms Chloe Forsyth, Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology (Architecture); Ms Emily Pitcher, Faculty of Arts (Music); Mr Raymond Lam, Faculty of Arts (History, Philosophy, Religion and Classics) 

  • 2008 - Ms Khamla Mott – Bachelor of Science, UQ Gatton; Ms Samantha Gannaway, Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Education (Middle Years of Schooling), UQ Ipswich; Mr Steven Rasztotsky, Bachelor of Music/ Bachelor of Education, UQ St Lucia 

  • 2007 - No award presented

  • 2006 - Mr Anton Petrenko, Bachelor of Psychology, UQ St Lucia; Ms Mani Heck, Bachelor of Applied Science, UQ Gatton


Image: winners of the 2015 Library Excellence Award (David Innes, Michael Wellington and Kathryn Mepham)